

No. 23

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

Third Session

Twenty-Seventh Legislature

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

The Speaker took the Chair at 1:30 p.m.

Members' Statements

Ms DeLong, Hon. Member for Calgary-Bow, made a statement congratulating Lauren Woolstencroft on winning five gold medals at the Paralympic Winter Games held in Vancouver, British Columbia, from March 12-21, 2010.

Mr. Olson, Hon. Member for Wetaskiwin-Camrose, made a statement regarding the Bailey Theatre Society and recognizing March 27, 2010, as World Theatre Day.

Mr. MacDonald, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Gold Bar, made a statement regarding his request to the Edmonton Public School Board to halt actions to close five schools.

Mr. Fawcett, Hon. Member for Calgary-North Hill, made a statement regarding the Fraser Institute's 2010 report card on Alberta's elementary schools.

Mr. Drysdale, Hon. Member for Grande Prairie-Wapiti, made a statement regarding Alberta's honeybee industry.

Mrs. Forsyth, Hon. Member for Calgary-Fish Creek, made a statement regarding new technologies and practices in the oil sands industry.

Tabling Returns and Reports

Ms DeLong, Hon. Member for Calgary-Bow:

Report dated February 9, 2010, entitled "Fiscal Pulse, Alberta's 2010-11 Budget, Balancing to Retain Alberta's Advantage" prepared by Scotiabank Group Sessional Paper 144/2010

Mr. MacDonald, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Gold Bar:

2 e-mail messages, the first dated December 3, 2009, from A. Willis and the second dated November 27, 2009, from Donna Morrow, both of Edmonton, to Hon. Mr. Stelmach, Premier, Hon. Mr. Liepert, Minister of Health and Wellness, and Mr. MacDonald, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Gold Bar, expressing opposition to the government's plan to close acute psychiatric care beds at Alberta Hospital Edmonton

Sessional Paper 145/2010

Report dated March 2010 entitled "Information Bulletin, An Auditor General Who is Both Independent and Accountable, Working Effectively Within Alberta's Westminster Model Democracy" prepared by the Western Centre for Economic Research

Sessional Paper 146/2010

Ms Notley, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Strathcona:

E-mail message dated February 17, 2010, from Matthew Hildebrandt to Ms Notley, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Strathcona, expressing opposition to two new mandatory non-instructional fees at the University of Alberta

Sessional Paper 147/2010

Copies of 63 postcards from Albertans to Hon. Mr. Stelmach, Premier, regarding long-term care beds

Sessional Paper 148/2010

Dr. Taft, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Riverview:

News release dated April 13, 2006, entitled "Grande Prairie receives funding support from the province for new supportive living project" prepared by the Government of Alberta

Sessional Paper 149/2010

Excerpt from the 2006/2007 government "blue books"

Sessional Paper 150/2010

Tablings to the Clerk

Clerk of the Assembly on behalf of Hon. Mr. Hancock, Minister of Education:

School Jurisdictions, Audited Financial Statements for the Year Ended August 31, 2008, Section 1

Sessional Paper 151/2010

School Jurisdictions, Audited Financial Statements for the Year Ended August 31, 2008, Section 2

Sessional Paper 152/2010

School Jurisdictions, Audited Financial Statements for the Year Ended August 31, 2008, Section 3

Sessional Paper 153/2010

ORDERS OF THE DAY

Government Bills and Orders

Committee of the Whole

According to Order, the Assembly resolved itself into Committee of the Whole and the Speaker left the Chair.

(Assembly in Committee)

The following Bill was taken under consideration:

Bill 15 Appropriation Act, 2010 (\$) — Hon. Mr. Snelgrove

During consideration of Bill 15, Appropriation Act, 2010 (\$), Hon. Mr. Denis, Deputy Government House Leader, requested the unanimous consent of the Assembly to reduce the interval between division bells to one minute.

Unanimous consent was not granted.

During consideration of Bill 15, Appropriation Act, 2010 (\$), Mr. Anderson, Hon. Member for Airdrie-Chestermere, requested and received the unanimous consent of the Assembly to reduce the interval between division bells to one minute.

And after sometime spent therein, pursuant to Standing Order 64(4), at 5:45 p.m., the Chair interrupted the proceedings and immediately put the question on the Appropriation Bill standing on the Order Paper referred to Committee of the Whole.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to. With Mr. Mitzel in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 30

Adv Denis Lund Allred Drysdale Marz Elniski Amery McQueen Berger Fawcett Ouellette Bhardwaj Goudreau Prins Blackett Hayden Quest Campbell Jacobs Snelgrove Dallas Klimchuk VanderBurg Danyluk Knight Weadick DeLong Lukaszuk Woo-Paw

Against the motion: 7

Anderson Kang Taft Hehr MacDonald Taylor

Hinman

The Acting Speaker assumed the Chair.

The following Bill was reported:

Bill 15 Appropriation Act, 2010 (\$) — Hon. Mr. Snelgrove

Third Reading

The following Bill was read a Third time and passed:

Bill 1 Alberta Competitiveness Act — Mrs. McQueen on behalf of Hon. Mr. Stelmach

Adjournment

On motion by Hon. Mr. Denis, Deputy Government House Leader, the Assembly adjourned at 5:53 p.m. until Thursday, March 25, 2010, at 1:30 p.m.

Hon. Ken Kowalski, Speaker

Title: Wednesday, March 24, 2010